Close this search box.

POINTS UPDATE: Sheppard increases points lead by two, Tim Sears Jr. cracks top five

Take a look at the most recent points update and the latest movers with seven races down in the quest for the 2023 Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modified championship.

LATEST RACE: Weedsport Speedway (July 16)

Current Leader:

Matt Sheppard (+40 points): Defending Series champion Matt Sheppard entered Weedsport Speedway with a 38-point lead over second place Mat Williamson. After securing a second-place finish, along with his first Billy Whittaker Cars and Trux Fast Time Award, he added on two more points to his lead.


Chris Hile (+1): The 2021 Rookie of the Year continues his stellar comeback to the tour, consistently posting top-10 finishes. After a seventh-place finish at Weedsport Speedway, the Oswego, NY resident bumped up one spot to fourth place. He has finished in the top-10 in all but two Series matchups this season.

Tim Sears Jr. (+1): After a fourth-place finish at Weedsport Speedway, his best of the season thus far, Tim Sears Jr. moved his way to fifth in points. It was also his first top-five finish this season.

Darren Smith (-2): Darren Smith finished outside the top-10 in 16th place during the Hall of Fame 100, dropping him two spots from fourth to sixth in points. The sophomore standout has still shown plenty of improvement this season, already capturing three Billy Whittaker Cars and Trux Fast Time Awards and his first top-five finish at Bridgeport Motorsports Park. He’ll look to string together another solid performance Wednesday, July 19, at Land of Legends Raceway.

Jimmy Phelps (-2): The Baldwinsville, NY racer has struggled in the last four races, finishing outside the top-10 in every race since his fifth-place finish at Lebanon Valley Speedway on May 29. After a 12th-place finish this visit at Weedsport Speedway, Phelps dropped two spots to ninth in the points battle.

Max McLaughlin (+1): Heinke-Baldwin Racing driver Max McLaughlin has had a challenging first half to his season, with only two finishes inside the top-10. After a 14th place finish at his home track of Weedsport Speedway on July 16, the Mooresville, NC driver still managed to climb one spot into 11th in points. He’ll look to rebound in the next Series matchup at Land of Legends Raceway.

Adam Pierson (-2): Sophomore driver Adam Pierson has struggled to find his rhythm this season, posting a 16th-place finish at Orange County Fair Speedway followed by 20th place finishes at Big Diamond Speedway and the second visit to Weedsport Speedway. His third-place podium finish at his home track Albany-Saratoga Speedway on June 13 can be used as a point of reference as he aims to climb out of 12th place in points and back into contention.

Anthony Perrego (+1): Coming off his breakthrough win at Big Diamond Speedway on July 11, the 2022 Rookie of the Year Anthony Perrego notched another respectable performance at Weedsport Speedway, finishing in sixth place, bumping him one spot to seventh place in points. It was his fourth top-10 finish of the season.

Jack Lehner: (+1): “The Ginja Ninja” recorded his third top-10 finish during the second Series visit to Weedsport Speedway after finishing 11th the first time around on May 28. The performance bumped him 12 points past Max McLaughlin and into 10th place in points.


1.) Matt Sheppard 1049 (Matt Sheppard Motorsports)
2.) Mat Williamson, -40 (Buzz Chew Racing)
3.) Peter Britten, -86 (Peter Britten Racing)
4.) Chris Hile, -112 (Hile Motorsports)
5.) Tim Sears Jr. -114 (Tim Sears Jr. Racing)
6.) Darren Smith -130 (Jeremy Smith Racing)
7.) Anthony Perrego -132 (Four Star Racing)
8.) Mike Mahaney -137 (Huttig Motorsports)
9.) Jimmy Phelps -140 (Heinke-Baldwin Racing)
10.) Jack Lehner -174 (Jack Lehner Racing)

For Full Series Points, CLICK HERE

UP NEXT: The Super DIRTcar Series travels to Canandaigua, NY for a 70-lap, $7,500-to-win spectacular at Land of Legends Raceway on Wednesday, July 19.

If you can’t make it to the track, you can watch all the action live on DIRTVision