Sheppard Among Elite


RARE AIR: Sheppard’s Second Straight Title Puts Him Among Elite

Young New York star only sixth driver in 36-year history to win championships in back-to-back seasons

WEEDSPORT, NY – Nov. 14, 2011 – By Kevin Kovac/DIRTcar Racing PR – No one had to tell Matt Sheppard why his 2011 overall DIRTcar Big-Block Modified championship holds so much significance. That fact hit him head-on as soon as he glanced at the select list of drivers who preceded him as winners of DIRTcar Northeast’s most prestigious title in back-to-back seasons.

With his second straight Big-Block points crown, Sheppard became just the sixth competitor to capture consecutive championships in the 36 years that the trophy has been awarded. He joined a group of DIRTcar Big-Block Modified immortals that features Alan Johnson (2002-2003), Brett Hearn (outright in 1996 and co-champ in ‘97), Bob McCreadie (1994-95), Jack Johnson (1984-85, 1987-88) and Will Cagle (1978-79).

Read more