Thunder on the 1000 Islands
Can Am Speedway | Lafargeville, NY
Saturday, April 15, 2023
The Thunder on the 1000 Islands begins in

Tickets can be purchased at the gate.

For more information, call the track at (315) 876-3478

Event Info

Thunder on the 1000 Islands
April 14, 2023 to April 15, 2023
Can Am Speedway
21047 State Route 411
Lafargeville, NY 

Event Description
The DIRTcar 358 Modified Series on Friday for a $4,000-to-win Feature, followed by the DIRTcar Pro Stock Series ($1,000 to win) and the Super DIRTcar Series on Saturday for a 75 lap $7,500-to-win finale at Can Am Speedway!

Series Racing
DIRTcar Pro Stock Series, Super DIRTcar Series, DIRTcar NE 4 Cylinders

To Win Amount

Event Schedule
3:00 PM - Pit Gates Open - Technical Inspection Begins
3:00 PM - Draws Opens
5:45 PM - Draws Concludes
5:45 PM - DIRTcar Pro Stock Drivers Meeting
6:00 PM - Super DIRTcar Series Drivers Meeting
6:30 HOT LAPS/My Place Hotels Qualifying

Super DIRTcar Series Hot Laps
DIRTcar Pro Stocks Timed Hot Laps
Super DIRTcar Series My Place Hotels Qualifying


Super DIRTcar Series Heats (8 Laps)
DIRTcar Pro Stock Heats (8 Laps)
Super DITcar Series Redraw Front Stretch (Track Prep if necessary)
DIRTcar Pro Stock Redraw - Front Stretch
Super DIRTcar Series Last Chance Showdown(s) (10 Laps)
DIRTcar Pro Stocks Last Chance Showdown (10 Laps if necessary)
Intermission/Track Prep if necessary
Super DIRTcar Series Feature (75 LAPS)
DIRTcar Pro Stock Series (30 Laps)

Frequently Asked Questions
To Win Amount

Type of Grandstand
bleachers aluminum and wood

Handicapped Seating
Ground level of the main grandstant

Handicapped Parking
Directly in front of the General Admission gate

Pit Gate Location
Parking lot

Personal Coolers
no outside drinks medical only

Credit Card Use
Concessions, Office, Ticket Window

Alcohol Sales
Available at the Beer Stand

Parking Cost

Camping Availability
non-electric, onsite

Closest Airport

Other Airport

Track Info
Track Phone
(315) 876-3478

Ticket Phone
(315) 876-3478

Track Email

Track Size & Type
0.375; clay

Competitor Info
DIRTVision Highlights
Race Recap

Can-Am Speedway’s Thunder on the 1000 Islands has expanded to an extravagant two-day event in 2023.

Along with the Super DIRTcar Series taking center stage on Saturday, April 15, for a 75-lap, $7,500-to-win showdown, the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series will help kick off the weekend on Friday, April 14, and then the DIRTcar Pro Stock Series will join The Beasts of the Northeast on Saturday.

The event will be the Super DIRTcar Series’ first New York stop of the year and its 25th visit to the LaFargeville track.

Early Storylines:

10TH TITLE RUN: Nine-time and reigning Super DIRTcar Series champion Matt Sheppard, is on a path to make more history this year as he chases an iconic 10th Series title. Can-Am Speedway could be a good stop along the way as Sheppard won the last Series race at the Speedway.

The Waterloo, NY native is also a three-time Series winner at the track and was the first driver to win on the track’s new 4/10-mile configuration.

FULLER HOUSE: Hometown hero Tim Fuller, of Watertown, NY, will be back to try and score his first Super DIRTcar Series win at Can-Am Speedway since 2007.

As a weekly competitor at Can-Am, Fuller has captured multiple 358 Modified Feature wins at the track and claimed the 358 Modified track championship last year. In his last two Super DIRTcar Series races, Fuller finished second and third.

MONEY MAT: Canadian Mat Williamson got off to a strong start in 2023 with two Feature wins at Volusia Speedway Park during DIRTcar Nationals and claimed his first Big Gator championship.

In four Series starts at Can-Am, Williamson has scored two top fives and three top-10 finishes – including his fifth-place finish at the track last year.

Previous Super DIRTcar Series Winners:
2022 – Matt Sheppard on May 18
2021 – Stewart Friesen on April 10
2020 – Anthony Perrego on Oct. 9
2019 – Matt Sheppard on April 13
2009 – Matt Sheppard on Aug. 21
2008 – Gary Tomkins on Aug. 16
2007 – Tim Fuller on Aug. 18, Steve Paine on Aug. 18
2004 – Gary Tomkins on July 28
2003 – Tim McCreadie on Sept. 6
2002 – Tim McCreadie on July 24
2000 – Danny Johnson on July 20
1999 – Billy Decker on July 22
1998 – Pat Ward on July 16
1997 – Steve Paine on July 17
1996 – Bob McCreadie on July 18
1995 – Danny O’Brien on Aug. 30
1994 – Alan Johnson on July 20
1993 – Steve Paine on July 21
1992 – Doug Hoffman on July 21
1991 – Steve Paine on July 23
1990 – Pat O’Brien
1989 – Brett Hearn
1988 – Doug Hoffman

If you can’t make it to the track, you can watch all the action live on DIRTVision.