Sheppard dominant at Canandaigua

Takes early command for Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified win in Jan Corcoran Memorial

By Tom Herzig

CANANDAIGUA, NY – May 20, 2015 – There was no catching Matt Sheppard after he took the lead from pole sitter Steve Paine on lap nine of the 64-lap Jan Corcoran Memorial Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series event Wednesday at Canandaigua Motorsports Park.

Sheppard had sizeable leads trimmed by four cautions, but he was able to maintain control each time, including a final restart on lap 48.

Larry Wight, Sheppard’s closest pursuer, drew within four car-lengths of Sheppard’s FX Caprara No. 9h on the final lap, but had to settle for the runner-up spot. Paine was third, followed by Brett Hearn and Billy Dunn.

“This was a great race for a great lady,” Sheppard said. “I don’t know how I could have done any better. Between me and this car and this track, it’s quite a combination right now. I feel confident racing here.”

Sheppard started fifth in a 28-car field, three spots better than Wight.

“We both had solid cars, but it’s hard to close on somebody that strong on a big track that gets slippery,” Wight said.

Wight passed Paine for second a lap after the first caution of the race for Dunn, who slowed and then pitted to replace a deflating right rear tire.

Dunn had started 25th. He raced into the top-10 on lap 42, spent several laps dicing with Billy Decker for sixth and closed in on Hearn for fourth, but couldn’t get past him.

Decker, Mat Williamson, Matt Billings, Danny Johnson and Erick Rudolph completed the top ten.

Earlier, Hearn had won the Pole Position Raceway Fast Time Award, but after the Dig Safely NY 811 redraw, he started 11th.

The Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series’ next stop is at Brockville Ontario Speedway Wednesday, May 27.

For more information on the Super DIRTcar Series, visit,, follow on Twitter @SuperDIRTcar, and like us on Facebook at