Close this search box.

Red-hot Friesen strikes again

Red-hot Friesen strikes again at Rolling Wheels

Holds off Larry Wight for 3rd straight Super DIRTcar win

ELBRIDGE, N.Y. – September 3, 2015 – Stewart Friesen led the final 88 laps of the Bud Light 100 at Rolling Wheels Raceway to score his third straight Super DIRTcar Series win and a $7,500 payoff in the Petruska Racing Atlas Paving No. 66.

Friesen drew the pole, yielded to Anthony Perrego for 12 laps and then took over. Pat Ward and Danny Johnson stayed with the leader during the first half of the race, but eventual runner-up Larry Wight pressured him the most for the final 20 laps. Wight, could hang with Friesen and gain ground down the backstretch into turn three, but he couldn’t make the Gypsum Express No. 99L stick into and off the first turn well enough to ever get to Friesen’s door. Friesen’s margin of victory was two car-lengths.

“We had radios tonight and Jared (Petruska) said he’s coming, but he’s a little sketchy in turn one,” Friesen said. “We were good. The track changed quite a bit. It would clean off on the restarts and I could open it up a bit. Those red cars (Wight and his teammates Pat Ward and Billy Decker) were ganging up on me, but we were strong.”

Ward had a podium finish. Decker finished fourth, several car-lengths back.

Wight passed Decker for third on lap on lap 76 and went by Ward two laps later.

“Late in the race I was getting down on fuel,” Wight said. “I had to half-throttle it some. I couldn’t enter one as high as he could and I’d lose what I’d gained.”

Ward and Danny Johnson, who blew a right rear of lap 47 and never returned, stayed within reach of Friesen after he took the lead from Perrego, while the rest of the field got strung out behind them

“I went with a softer tire than the 99,” Ward said. “It helped me hang around for a while, but when I saw Wight come up on me, I knew I was in trouble. Stewie ran a great race. There was no catching him.”

Tim Fuller was a strong and steady fifth after twenty laps of dicing with Decker mid-race. Brett Hearn started 11th and placed sixth.

Peter Britten, point leader Matt Sheppard, Jimmy Phelps and Perrego completed the top ten.

Friesen will go for his fourth straight SDS Big-Block Modified win and fifth of the season overall at Autodrome Granby September 11

Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series Statistical Report; Rolling Wheels Raceway; September 3, 2015

“Bud Light 100”

A-Main (100 laps): start in (*)

1. 66 Stewart Friesen – Sprakers, NY (1)

2. 99L Larry Wight – Phoenix, N.Y. (5)

3. 42p Pat Ward – Genoa, N.Y. (7)

4. 91 Billy Decker – Unadilla, N.Y. (9)

5. 19 Tim Fuller – Edwards, N.Y. (6)

6. 20 Brett Hearn – Sussex, NJ (11)

7. 21a Peter Britten – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia (21)

8. 9h Matt Sheppard – Waterloo, N.Y. (16)

9. 98h Jimmy Phelps – Baldwinsville, N.Y. (10)

10. 55 Anthony Perrego – Montgomery, N.Y. (2)

11. 43 Keith Flach – Ravena, N.Y. (14)

12. 3 Justin Haers – Phelps, N.Y. (15)

13. 32 Vic Coffey – Leicester, N.Y. (12)

14. 7z Mat Williamson – St. Catharines, ON (8)

15. 02 Roy Bresnahan – Fulton, N.Y. (24)

16. 63 Adam Roberts – Watertown, N.Y. (26)

17. 8 Rich Scagliotta – Bound Brook, N.J. (20)

18. 13 Rich Regalski Jr. – Slippery Rock, PA. (22)

19. 77 Dan Wiesner – Geneva, N.Y. (25)

20. 26 Rick Richner – Niagara Falls, N. Y. (19)

21. 1x Tyler Dippel – Walkill, N.Y. (13)

22. 84 Gary Tomkins – Clifton Springs, N.Y. (17)

23. 19 Jessey Mueller – Olmstedville, N.Y. (18)

24. 33 Mike Mahaney – Kings Ferry, N. Y. (4)

25. 31 Jamie Maier – (27)

26. 27J Danny Johnson – Rochester, N.Y. (3)

27. 28p Eldon Payne – Hopewell, N.Y. (23)


2rj Ronnie Johnson – Duanesburg, N.Y. ( )

Qualifying Heats (8 laps, top 6 transfer, top 4 redraw)

Heat 1: Hearn, Ward, Williamson, Phelps, Dippel, Sheppard, Richner, Regalski Jr. Wiesner, Maier

Heat 2: Wight, Friesen, Mahaney, Perrego, Flach, Tomkins, Scagliotta, Payne

Heat 3: Decker, Fuller, Coffey, Johnson, Haers, Mueller, Britten, Bresnahan, Roberts

Consi: Richner, Scagliotta, Britten, Regalski Jr., Payne, Bresnahan, Wiesner, Payne, Maier


VP Race Fuels – Matt Sheppard ($50 cash)

ASI Racewear – Peter Britten ($50 cash)

Pole Position Raceway Fast Qualifier Award – Billy Decker ($100 cash)

Bilstein Shocks – Adam Roberts ($50 cash)

Bicknell Racing Products – Larry Wight ($100 product certificate)

Cometic Gasket – Justin Haers ($50 cash)

Comp Cams –  Anthony Perrego ($50 cash), Larry Wight ($50 product certificate)

Edelbrock – Justin Haers ($50 cash)

Fox Shox – Brett Hearn ($50 cash)

JE Pistons – Peter Britten ($50 cash), Adam Roberts, Tyler Dippel (product valued at appr. $285)

JRI Shocks – Adam Roberts ($50 cash)

KSE – Peter Britten ($50 product certificate)

MSD –  Larry Wight ($50 cash), Mike Mahaney ($25 cash)

Mobil 1 – Peter Britten ($50 cash), Gary Tomkins (20% product discount)

SuperFlow – Mat Williamson ($50 cash)

Wrisco Aluminum – Stewart Friesen (product valued at appr. $200)

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, Pole Position Raceway and Dig Safely New York. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, FX Caprara, Fox Shox, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Racing Electronics, Superflow, TNT Rescue and Wrisco Aluminum.