Close this search box.

Next stop: Merrittville

Merrittville next stop for Super DIRTcar Series

Bob St. Amand Sr Memorial 100 pays $6,000-to-win

Thorold, ON – July 26, 2015 – The Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series returns to action on the Merrittville Speedway 1/3-mile in Thorold, Ontario Monday, August 3 for the Bob St. Amand Sr. Memorial 100.

Point leader Matt Sheppard heads up a stellar field that will include his closest pursuer, 2014 Super DIRTcar Series champion Billy Decker, Danny Johnson, Brett Hearn, Jimmy Phelps, Larry Wight, Pat Ward and Stewart Friesen.

Hearn, an eight-time Super DIRTcar Series champion, dominated the most recent event at Autodrome Drummond for his second Big-Block Modified Series victory – and first point-counting win – in 2015.

Sheppard leads Decker in the point standings 788-785. Phelps, his HBR Racing teammate, sits third with 743 points. Sheppard has won four of the last six Big-Block Modified Series events at Merrittville.

“The Doctor” Danny Johnson, currently fourth in points, won last year’s Bob St. Amand Sr. Memorial 100.

The Series’ invaders will meet with plenty of resistance from Merrittville regulars Hall-of-Famer Pete Bicknell, Chad Brachmann III – a Series winner at Ohsweken Speedway in June, Mike Bowman, Mat Williamson, Billy Dunn, Chris Steele, and more.

Six different drivers have been in victory lane after nine events.

Bob St. Amand Sr. was the 1972 Merrittville Speedway Modified champion. He was a long-time pit steward at the track and was inducted into its Hall of Fame in 2002. He won several support division titles at Ransomville and Humberstone Speedways and earned Rookie of the Year honors at Ransomville and Merrittville.

The St. Amand family, friends and associates have facilitated lap leader bonus sponsorship for all 100 laps of the Memorial event.

Post time Monday, August 3 is 7 p.m. Gates open at 4 p.m. For additional information, visit, visit, follow on Twitter @SuperDIRTcar, and like us on Facebook at

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, Pole Position Raceway and Dig Safely New York. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, FX Caprara, Fox Shox, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Racing Electronics, Superflow, TNT Rescue and Wrisco Aluminum.