Close this search box.

Car Owner Jeff Brownell Posts $1,000 For ’09 Florida Tour Big-Block Champ


Weedsport, NYJanuary 9, 2009 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing Northeast PR Director
*John Ferlito Photo: Jeff Brownell (L) & Jeff Jr.

Advance Auto Parts Big-Block Modified racers vying for top honors in the 38th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals By UNOH at Volusia Speedway Park will have even more incentive this February as team owner Jeff Brownell Sr. has posted a $1,000 prize package for the 2009 Florida Tour points champion.

With $2,000 on the line in the opening three 30-lap features and a $5,000-to-win 50-lap finale comprising the four-race mini-series February 11-14, Brownell will be rewarding the top points earner with a check for $500 plus $500 in Xtreme Lubricants Gear Lube and/or Hi-Performance Race Oil.

“This will be a nice way to help out the racers while introducing a brand new line of racing oil,” said Brownell, who boasts 40 years of experience in the oil business with 25 of those recognized nationally as a company owner. The veteran Central New York car owner was the first to register his XTreme Lubricants-backed Big-Block entries in December for competition down south at the popular Barberville half-miler. Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series standout Matt Sheppard (#9s) and teammate Jeff Brownell Jr. (#29) will be steering a pair of C.C. Performance-powered Bicknell cars at VSP next month each poised for their first career triumph in gator country.

“We went back to the old ways during the past year developing a special oil just for racing. It’s strictly a racing product, geared 100% for racing and made with some time tested elements. We’re hoping teams can benefit from using it and realize a difference right away. Florida will be a good time to get it off the ground and the champion will be among the first to find out first-hand,” Brownell added.

Sheppard and Brownell Jr. are among over 35 drivers representing nine states and Canada already registered for DIRTcar Racing Northeast’s 12th straight trip to Volusia, with race teams scheduled to arrive from New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Ohio, Massachusetts, Vermont, Delaware, Maryland and Texas plus the provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The all-star cast is headlined by reigning Mr. DIRTcar points king Billy Decker, defending Alltel DIRTcar Nationals champion Brett Hearn and all-time DIRTcar Big-Block feature winner Alan Johnson.

Tickets are on sale for the 38th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals, February 3-14, at Volusia Speedway Park, available for any individual night and also in blocks for each headline division. Along with the Big-Block Modifieds, competition also features Sprint Car racing (Feb. 3-8), Late Model action (Feb. 9-14) and UMP DIRTcar Modified activity (Feb. 3-10). For tickets call the track directly at 386/985-4402 or visit on-line.

For additional information, contact the DIRTcar Northeast Office (315/834-6606) during normal business hours or log into Advance Series Big-Block Modified news is always available on the internet at

Headquartered in Roanoke, Va., Advance Auto Parts, a leading automotive aftermarket retailer of parts, accessories, batteries, and maintenance items in the United States, serves both the do-it-yourself and professional installer markets As of April 19, 2008, the Company operated 3,291 stores in 40 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Additional information about the Company, employment opportunities, customer services, and on-line shopping for parts and accessories can be found on the Company’s web site at

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels. Promotional partners include AMB i.t., Rite Aid Corporation and the University of Northwestern Ohio and the contingency sponsors are Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Integra Shocks, MSD Ignitions, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks and Wrisco Industries.