Barberville, FLFebruary 17, 2009 – By Tom Skibinski, Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series PR Director
*Chris Dolack Photo

Election season might be over, but there is still plenty of politicking going on in DIRTcar Racing. The 38th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals By UNOH wrapped up on Saturday, February 14 with the 12th consecutive night of racing at Volusia Speedway Park. During the event, 14 different drivers representing 13 different states wound up in the Alltel Wireless Victory Lane, and now they’re pleading with you, the fans, for your vote.

The driver from any of the four divisions competing in the event — Advance Auto Parts Big-Block Modifieds, 410 Sprint Cars, Dirt Late Models and UMP DIRTcar Modifieds— who generates the most Alltel All-Star votes at or via text message at 247253 plus driver code letter, will win $10,000. To make it even more interesting, the top vote-getters in the three non-winning divisions will pocket $1,000. Plus, one voting fan will win a $500 Alltel gift card.

The contest doesn’t last long, though. All votes must be cast by 11:59 p.m. on February 28.

In all, there were three different 410 Sprint Car winners, three different UMP DIRTcar Modified winners, five different Dirt Late Model winners and three different Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series winners, with that trio of Big-Blocks winners listed below in alphabetical order.

• Brett Hearn, Sussex, New Jersey (text code is N): All-time Advance Auto Parts Series Champion Hearn saved the best for last, winning the final feature of the 12-day event. In terms of features won, 19, the ‘Corporate Jet’ ranks as the most successful competitor during the winter in Florida, chasing down Andy Bachetti before finally taking the lead with nine laps to go in the 50-lap feature and holding off the field to take his 16th checkered flag at Volusia.

• Jamie Mills, Milford, Delaware (text code L): Now a three-time winner in the Sunshine State, Mills was so dominant on the third night of Big-Block action that officials pumped his motor just to prove to the other competitors he was within the rules. DIRTcar NE’s Rookie of the Year in 1994 even raced the final 10 laps without power steering, almost giving up with two to go because he could barely make the turns at speed around the sweeping half-mile oval. In the end, Mills held on to claim a narrow victory over ’08 Mr. DIRTcar Champion Billy Decker and end the two-race win streak of Pat Ward.

• Pat Ward, Genoa, New York (text code I): Ward had never won before at the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals By UNOH. He changed that in a big way this year, winning the first two nights and going on to capture the overall Big-Block points championship. He started outside the second row and won on the opening night of Big-Block racing, then followed that with a win from the pole that was anything but easy as he had to chase down Jeff Brownell Jr. for the win.

Voting by text message or at is open until 11:59 p.m. on Feb. 28. Make sure to cast a ballot daily for your favorite Alltel All-Star contender.

Headquartered in Roanoke, Va., Advance Auto Parts, a leading automotive aftermarket retailer of parts, accessories, batteries, and maintenance items in the United States, serves both the do-it-yourself and professional installer markets As of April 19, 2008, the Company operated 3,291 stores in 40 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Additional information about the Company, employment opportunities, customer services, and on-line shopping for parts and accessories can be found on the Company’s web site at

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and VP Racing Fuels. Promotional partners include Rite Aid Corporation, Dig Safely New York and the University of Northwestern Ohio and the contingency sponsors are Bars Leaks, Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Ferris Industries, Holley HP Carburetors, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks, Racing Electronics, Rislone Oil Stabilizer and Wrisco Industries.