Close this search box.

Big-Block Roster Growing For Advance Series Show In Virginia


Weedsport, NYApril 7, 2008 – By Tom Skibinski, Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series PR Director

The 2nd Annual Paul Sawyer Memorial scheduled for May 1 at Virginia Motor Speedway is only three weeks away and the anticipation continues to grow each day.

With a first-place prize of $10,000 enticing the best Big-Block Modified drivers in the Northeast, more than 40 drivers have already signed up for the 2008 Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series lid-lifter in the Old Dominion State.

An all-star cast of open-wheel entries spanning five states and Canada is anxiously waiting to take center stage in the Advance Series special at the Sawyer Family facility, with a few surprizes still waiting in the wings as the date approaches.

Modified teams can direct any questions regarding rule procedures to Cory Reed, DIRTcar NE Director of Competition & Track Sanctioning, at the DIRTcar NE Office (315/834-6606) or log into for additional information. For drivers wishing to add their team to the pre-race roster, please contact DIRTcar NorthEast PR Director Tom Skibinski at DIRTcar NE headquarters (x28) or through e-mail correspondence.

Virginia Motor Speedway (804/758-1867) is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda and 25 miles south of Tappahannock in Jamaica, Va. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads areas.

2nd Annual Paul Sawyer Memorial – Virginia Motor Speedway
Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Driver Roster (April 7)
1 Darwin Greene/Susquehanna,PA
1w Billy Pauch/Frenchtown,NJ
fx1 Frankie Caprara/Watertown,NY
r2 Rusty Smith/Bethlehem,PA
3 Justin Haers/Phelps,NY
5 Jimmy Horton/Neshanic Station,NJ
6 Pat O’Brien/Kingston,ONT
6j Joe Isabell/Pennellville,NY
7j Jeff Isabell/Pennellville,NY
7x Steve Paine/Waterloo,NY
8 Rich Scagliotta/Bound Brook,NJ
9s Matt Sheppard/Waterloo,NY
14 Rick Laubach/Quakertown,PA
14j Alan Johnson/Middlesex,NY
15 Brett Tonkin/Carbondale,PA
16 Mike Bowman/Baldwinsville,NY
18 Sean Beardsley/Central Square,NY
19 Tim Fuller/Edwards, NY
20 Brett Hearn/Sussex,NJ
27j Danny Johnson/Rochester,NY
29 Jeff Brownell Jr./Waterloo,NY
32c Vic Coffey/Leicester,NY
37x Tom Scheetz/Boyertown,PA
39w Steve Downs/Georgetown,DE
m40 Mark Forte,Jr./Blue Anchor,NJ
42b Kevin Bates/Lake Ariel,PA
43 Jim Horton IV/Neshanic Station,NJ
45 Wayne Jelley/Pittsfield,MA
47 Bob Sarkisian/Woolwich,NJ
48too Dave Rauscher/Waterloo,NY
49 Billy Dunn/Watertown,NY
30/55 Jamie Mills/Milford,DE
56 Vince Vitale/Phoenix,NY
71 David VanHorn/Phillipsburg,NJ
77x Dale Planck/Cortland,NY
83 Brian Swartzlander/Leechburg,PA
84 Gary Tomkins/Clifton Springs,NY
91 Billy Decker/Unadilla,NY
98h Jimmy Phelps/Baldwinsville,NY
99 Ryan Phelps/Fulton,NY
99w Larry Wight/Phoenix,NY
357 Stewart Friesen/Niagara-o-t-Lake,ONT
777 Kevin Bolland/New Brighton,PA

Headquartered in Roanoke, Va., Advance Auto Parts is the second-largest retailer of automotive aftermarket parts, accessories, batteries, and maintenance items in the United States, based on store count and sales. As of October 6, 2007, the company operated 3,228 stores in 40 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. The company serves both the do-it-yourself and professional installer markets.

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts and Hoosier Racing Tire. Rite Aid Corporation is a promotional partner and the contingency sponsors are Bars Leaks, Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Dig Safely New York, Holley HP Carburetors, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks, Rislone Oil Stabilizer and Wrisco Industries.