Weedsport, NYMay 24, 2010 – By Tom Skibinski, Super DIRTcar Series PR Director
*Ken Dippel Photo

Coming to a climax with the headline ‘Hall of Fame Classic 100’ on May 30, the Memorial Day Weekend Super DIRTcar Series showdown on the Cayuga County Fairgrounds is just 6 days away. The historic Weedsport, New York speedway comes to life for the traditional holiday special with the 100-lap Big-Block Modified winner on Sunday waiting to take home a cool $6,000 top prize.

Helping commemorate the past two decades of Hall of Fame happenings at the home of DIRTcar Northeast, highlights from many of the past induction days will be recalled in anticipation of the first big holiday racing event of the season.

The organization’s two-time ‘Driver of the Year,’ DIRTcar Racing Northeast’s only ‘Most Popular Driver’ award winner (1988-91) Bob McCreadie matched ’04 inductee Dave Lape’s feat by becoming the second and last driver to capture the Hall of Fame Classic and go on to gain membership across the fairgrounds in the NE Modified Hall of Fame & Classic Car Museum. McCreadie’s 2006 enshrinement was just as popular to those in attendance as it culminated a career that carried him from local favorite to national hero and secured the bearded and bespectacled superstar his rightful place in history for generations to come. Including that Hall of Fame 75-lapper in 1994 —the same year he established the current DIRTcar record of 43 Big-Block feature wins— ‘Barefoot’s’ career feature win total went over the 500 mark during the 2002 season. Upon concluding his days of driving he collected 20 DIRTcar track championships, a handful of DIRTcar touring series point titles and the overall Hoosier Tire-VP Racing Fuels Mr. DIRTcar points crown twice. Eldest son Tim McCreadie followed in his tire tracks, claiming top honors in the World of Outlaws Late Model Series Championship at the end of ’06 to cap off a truly Hall of Fame year for the first family of racing in Watertown..

Northeast Modified Hall of Fame Classic Big-Block Modified Winners
2009 – Billy Decker on May 24; 2008 – Dale Planck on May 25; 2007 – Danny Johnson and Tim Fuller on Aug. 19; 2006 – Danny Johnson on May 28; 2005 – Tim Fuller on May 29; 2004 – Gary Tomkins on May 30; 2003 – Alan Johnson on May 25; 2002 – Tim McCreadie on May 26; 2001 – Tim McCreadie on July 5; 2000 – Danny Johnson on May 28; 1999 – Billy Decker on May 30; 1998 – Gary Tomkins on May 24; 1997 – Danny Johnson on May 25; 1996 – Alan Johnson on May 26; 1995 – Rain; 1994 – Bob McCreadie on May 29; 1993 – Dave Lape on April 4; 1992 – Steve Paine on April 12.

The 19th Hall of Fame Classic at Cayuga County Fair Speedway on Sunday, May 30 is round three of the 2010 Super DIRTcar Series. Log into the homepage at www.superdirtcarseries.com to find out more about the nation’s premier Big-Block Modified tour and be sure to sign up as a Super DIRTcar Series follower on Twitter by visiting http://www.twitter.com/SuperDIRTcar. For further track information, access http://www.CayugaCountyFairSpeedway.com or phone 315/834-6606 during the day.

DIRTcar Racing Northeast main office is located in Weedsport, New York on the Cayuga County Fairgrounds, home of DIRTcar All-Star Weekend in July. DIRTcar Northeast’s crown jewel event —Super DIRT Week at the New York State Fairgrounds in Syracuse runs annually in October featuring Hoosier Tire-VP Racing Fuels Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series events for Big-Block Modified, 358-Modified, Sportsman and Pro Stock divisions. Ticket and schedule information is available by contacting the Weedsport office (315/834-6606) during the day or logging into www.allstar100weekend.com and www.superdirtweekonline.com anytime.