Weedsport, NYJanuary 13, 2009 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing Northeast PR Director

With entries representing nine states and Canada, an admirable Advance Auto Parts Big-Block Modified preliminary pre-race roster for the 38th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals By UNOH at Volusia Speedway Park boasts over 35 drivers geared up to take the trip south in February.

The trek to Volusia kicks off with an optional practice day on Tuesday, Feb. 10, opens for racing on Wednesday and concludes Saturday, Feb. 14 with a big $5,000-to-win 50-lapper. Two more Big-Block shows are scheduled in between February 12-13.

“We’re excited about all the teams planning to make the haul to Florida next month,” beamed Cory Reed, DIRTcar Racing Northeast Director of Competition & Track Sanctioning. “The Big-Blocks have built up quite a reputation at Volusia and we’ve got a great turnout of veteran drivers and talented newcomers already signed up to carry on a tradition like no other during the winter.”

The current cast of stars and cars from the Northeastern Big-Block Modified ranks includes 20 drivers from last year, with seven of the Top-10 in final 2008 Florida Tour points once again slated to depart for the Sunshine State in the coming weeks.

Headlining the assault are defending overall Hoosier Tire Mr. DIRTcar Champion Billy Decker, reigning Alltel DIRTcar Nationals points king Brett Hearn and DIRTcar Northeast’s all-time winningest Big-Block Modified driver Alan Johnson. That legendary trio is joined by Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series standouts Dale Planck, Matt Sheppard, Jeff Brownell Jr. and ’08 Motorsports Safety Systems/G-FORCE Presented By ButlerBuilt DIRTcar NE Big-Block & 358-Modified Rookie of the Year Larry Wight.

New York notables include Pat Ward, Dave Rauscher, Keith Flach, brothers Randy and Roger Chrysler, Sean Beardsley and Jeremy Markle plus Guy Sheldon, Carey Terrance and John Behron in their maiden voyages from the Empire State. James Michael Friesen and Tim Kerr from Ontario and Frenchman Michel Chicoine from Quebec pose a triple threat from north of the border.

Garden State chauffeurs Jimmy Horton, Rich Scagliotta and Steve Haggan are once signed up for the trip to gator country as are Pennsylvania pilots Ray Swinehart, Colin Jackson and Darwin Greene along with first-time traveler Brian Sadler. New Englanders Andy Bachetti (Mass.) and Dave Camara (Vt.), Ohioans Jim Rasey and Rex King Jr., Delaware drivers Jamie Mills and Matt Jester, brother in-laws Jeff Brown and Brad Trice from Maryland, and the father/son tandem of Doug and Jason Ingalls journey east from Texas to help fill out the formidable field in DIRTcar’s 21st Sunshine State showdown.

Any drivers needing to update team information for the roster, please contact DIRTcar Northeast PR Director Tom Skibinski by phone (585/350-8997) or through e-mail tskibinski@dirtcar.com correspondence. Specific questions regarding rules can be directed to DIRTcar NE Competition Director Cory Reed (315/224-9009).

Tickets remain on sale for the 38th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals, February 3-14, at Volusia Speedway Park, available for any individual night and also in blocks for each headline division. Along with the Big-Block Modifieds, competition also features Sprint Car racing (Feb. 3-8), Late Model action (Feb. 9-14) and UMP DIRTcar Modified activity (Feb. 3-10). For tickets call the track directly at 386/985-4402 or visit https://volusia.ticketdirector.com/ticketdirector.web.ui/SelectEvent.aspx on-line.

For additional information, contact the DIRTcar Northeast Office (315/834-6606) during normal business hours or log into www.dirtcarnationals.com. Advance Series Big-Block Modified news is always available on the internet at www.superdirtcarseries.com.


07 Tim Kerr/Picton,ONT….. 3rd trip to VSP with 18th-place best in ’07 finale
1 Darwin Greene/Susquehanna,PA ….. 3rd straight year to Fla. with 2 cars in ‘09
5 Jimmy Horton/Neshanic Station,NJ ….. 1999 Florida champ, 6 tour wins
5B Brian Sadler/Erie,PA….. Lernerville/Tri-City plans in place this season
8 Rich Scagliotta/Bound Brook,NJ ….. Sunshine State staple every winter
9 Jeff Brown/Parsonsburg,MD…..Florida Tour trial runs made in 2006-07
9S Matt Sheppard/Waterloo,NY ….. Advance Series standout in search of 1st Fla. win
14J Alan Johnson/Middlesex,NY ….. New Thompson team, same high expectations
20 Brett Hearn/Sussex,NJ ….. All-time Alltel DIRTcar Nationals Big-Block Champ
20S Steve Haggan/Ringoes, NJ ….. 3rd year of Modified competition in 2009
T21 Roger Chrysler/Lewiston,NY ….. Western New Yorker gaining Mod experience
26 Dave Camara/Poultney,VT…..Debut down south for Modified veteran
29 Jeff Brownell Jr./Waterloo,NY …..Teammate with Sheppard in 1st Florida races
30 Jamie Mills/Milford,DE ….. Searching for elusive Florida title in 12th straight trip
32 Jim Rasey/Southington,OH….. Western PA/Ohio open-wheel veteran
33 Ray Swinehart/Bechtelsville,PA….. Returns after rare tour absence in ‘08
33T Brad Trice/Parsonsburg,MD…..Only other Florida Tour stop made in 2007
34 Andy Bachetti/Sheffield,MA ….. 2005 Florida Tour champ, Lebanon Valley star
42 Guy Sheldon/Nassau,NY….. ’09 Lebanon Valley contender for owner Alex Thompson
42P Pat Ward/Genoa,NY ….. 2004 Florida Tour points champion, Gypsum teammate
43 Keith Flach/Ravena,NY ….. 2nd-generation driver, 2nd straight winter trip to VSP
48too Dave Rauscher/Waterloo,NY ….. 3rd consecutive run in ‘Sunshine State’
52 James Friesen/St.Catharines,ONT….. 3rd-generation pilot set for Big-Block debut
62 Matt Jester/Lincoln,DE…..4th-year driver ready for 1st-ever trip to Florida
66X Carey Terrance/Akwesasne,NY…..Joins teammate Planck in inaugural Alltel run
77X Dale Planck/Cortland,NY ….. More prepared than ever with car owner Terrance
79 Jeremy Markle/Port Jervis,NY ….. Florida Tour regular and Orange Co. winner
88K Randy Chrysler/Lewiston,NY….. Returns for 6th trip south in last 7 years
91 Billy Decker/Unadilla,NY ….. 2008 Mr. DIRTcar in quest of 1st Florida Tour title
92 John Behron/Central Square,NY…..Looking to qualify for 1st-ever Big-Block show
92 Sean Beardsley/Central Square,NY…..Sharing driving chores with Behron
97 Michel Chicoine/Ste-Cecile de Milton,QUE…..358-Modified mainstay, Florida first
99 Doug Ingalls/Longview,TX….. Three Florida Tour DIRTcar BB wins in 1983-84
99L Larry Wight/Phoenix,NY ….. ‘08 DIRTcar NE Big-Block & 358 top rookie at 16
129 Jason Ingalls/Longview,TX…..Winged Modified star from Lone Star State
165 Rex King Jr./Bristolville,OH…..2nd-generation chauffeur making 1st Florida stop
923 Colin Jackson/Peckville,PA ….. Orange County runner kicking off season south

Headquartered in Roanoke, Va., Advance Auto Parts, a leading automotive aftermarket retailer of parts, accessories, batteries, and maintenance items in the United States, serves both the do-it-yourself and professional installer markets As of April 19, 2008, the Company operated 3,291 stores in 40 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. Additional information about the Company, employment opportunities, customer services, and on-line shopping for parts and accessories can be found on the Company’s web site at www.advanceautoparts.com.

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire and Sunoco Race Fuels. Promotional partners include AMB i.t., Rite Aid Corporation and the University of Northwestern Ohio and the contingency sponsors are Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Integra Shocks, MSD Ignitions, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks and Wrisco Industries.