Close this search box.

1 MONTH ALERT: Super DIRTcar Series Plans Memorial Day Weekend Doubleheader With Weedsport, Thunder Mountain

Matt Williamson at Weedsport

The Super DIRTcar Series will celebrate Memorial Day with a doubleheader weekend of racing in New York.

First, the Northeast’s premier dirt racing series will return to Weedsport Speedway, in Weedsport, NY, for the Heroes Remembered 100 on Sunday, May 26. It’ll be the Series’ 54th visit to the 3/8-mile oval and first of three stops there this year.

Then, the Series will make its debut at Thunder Mountain Speedway, in Lisle, NY, on Monday, May 27, for a special Memorial Day race day.

Both events will feature the best drivers in the region, including 10-time Series champion Matt Sheppard (of Waterloo, NY), Jimmy Phelps (of Baldwinsville, NY), 2019 Series champion Mat Williamson (of St. Catharines, ON), points lead Anthony Perrego (of Walden, NY) and more.

Williamson, who is also the defending Super DIRT Week champion, swept both races at Weedsport Speedway last year.

The race at Thunder Mountain Speedway will be a homecoming for rising star Darren Smith, of Binghamton, NY, who is a Thunder Mountain track champion. In his third full year with the Super DIRTcar Series this year, he’s already off to a strong start, having finished second in the opening race of the season.

Date – Sunday, May 26
Location – Weedsport, NY

Times (ET) –
4pm Pit Gate Opens
5pm Grandstands Open
7pm Racing starts

Tickets – Available at
How to Watch – Can’t make it to the track? Watch every lap live on DIRTVision.

Last Race Video Recap (July 16, 2024) –

Previous Super DIRTcar Series Winners at Weedsport –
2023 – Mat Williamson on May 28, Mat Williamson on July 16
2022 – Stewart Friesen on May 29, Jimmy Phelps on Aug. 15, Larry Wight on Sept. 10
2021 – Mat Williamson on May 30, Stewart Friesen on July 25, Matt Sheppard on Sept. 11
2020 – Max McLaughlin on Oct. 11
2019 – Erick Rudolph on May 27, Matt Sheppard on July 28, Matt Sheppard on Sept. 2
2018 – Stewart Friesen on May 28, Erick Rudolph on July 28
2017 – Stewart Freisen on July 11, Matt Sheppard on Sept. 4
2016 – Gary Tomkins on Aug. 9, Matt Sheppard on Sept. 5, Danny Johnson on Sept. 17
2015 – Matt Sheppard on Aug. 6
2014 – Billy Decker on Aug. 7
2010 – Matt Sheppard on May 30, Jimmy Phelps on July 16, Matt Sheppard on July 17, Larry Wight on Sept. 5
2009 – Ryan Phelps on July 18, Ryan Phelps on July 19, Billy Decker on Sept. 6
2008 – Dale Planck on May 25, Alan Johnson on Aug. 31, Billy Decker on Aug. 31
2007 – Danny Johnson on Aug. 19, Tim Fuller on Aug. 19, Alan Johnson on Sept. 2, Billy Decker on Sept. 2
1988 – Jack Johnson on Sept. 11
1987 – Bob McCreadie on Sept. 13
1986 – Danny Johnson on Sept. 7
1985 – Alan Johnson on July 17, Bob McCreadie on Sept. 8
1984 – Bob McCreadie on July 18, Bob McCreadie on Sept. 9
1983 – Danny Johnson on July 20, Jack Johnson on Sept. 18
1982 – Dave Lape on July 21, Alan Johnson on Sept. 12
1981 – Will Cagle on Aug. 12, Merv Treichler on Sept. 20
1980 – Jack Johnson on July 16, Jack Johnson on Sept. 21
1979 – C.D. Coville on July 18
1977 – Will Cagle on July13
1976 – Davey Moore on July 14

Date – Monday, May 27
Location – Lisle, NY

Times (ET) –
4pm Gates Open
6pm Hot Laps & Qualifying
-Racing to follow

Tickets – Available at track
How to Watch – Can’t make it to the track? Watch every lap live on DIRTVision.