Close this search box.

1 MONTH ALERT: Beasts of The Northeast Invade Orange County Fair Speedway on May 7

Matt Sheppard racing at Orange County Fair Speedway

The Super DIRTcar Series will make its 22nd visit to Orange County Fair Speedway on Sunday, May 7 with a $7,500 payday on the line.

Every year, the high-speed 5/8-mile track tests the limits of the Beasts of the Northeast and their machines. Looking through history, the track has favored those who have their name in the Hall of Fame or have a plaque waiting for them.

As the third stop on the championship tour, the event will help set the stage for an exciting points battle going into the summer months.


Early Storylines:
10TH TITLE HUNT: Nine-time and defending Super DIRTcar Series champion Matt Sheppard, of Waterloo, NY, will be on the hunt for a historic 10th Series title this year. Orange County Fair Speedway could prove to be a good stop on his journey to that goal as he won last year’s Series event there.

Sheppard also has seven major event victories at the track – two with the Super DIRTcar Series – and is a track champion at Orange County.

PRIME CONTENDERS: A stacked roster of drivers are competing with the Super DIRTcar Series this year including the likes of 2019 Series champion Mat Williamson, 2010 Orange County winner Jimmy Phelps, Max McLaughlin, 2022 Rookie of the Year Anthony Perrego and more.

As they all rise toward Hall of Fame prestige, a win at Orange County for any of them could help further pave a path in that direction.

LEGENDARY WINNERS: Only three drivers have won in the last seven Super DIRTcar Series races at Orange County Fair Speedway – Matt Sheppard, Stewart Friesen and Brett Hearn. Each a legend of the sport. And before them, more legendary winners – Billy Decker, Danny Johnson, Jimmy Phelps, Frank Cozze and more.

Orange County has become a track where many stars of the Series have cut their teeth and solidified their status as an icon of the sport.

2022 – Matt Sheppard on July 28
2021 – Stewart Friesen on Aug. 12
2019 – Matt Sheppard on Aug. 15
2018 – Stewart Friesen on July 18
2014 – Brett Hearn on Oct. 26
2013 – Brett Hearn on Oct. 27
2012 – Brett Hearn on Oct. 21
2011 – Billy Decker on June 21, Danny Johnson on Oct. 23
2010 – Jimmy Phelps on June 16
2009 – Billy Decker on June 17
2008 – Brett Hearn on July 31, Danny Johnson on Oct. 19
2007 – Frank Cozze on May 31, Jeff Heotzler on Oct. 21
1988 – Rich Eurich on Oct. 23
1987 – Doug Hoffman on Oct. 25
1985 – Jack Johnson on Oct. 27
1984 – Dave Lape on Oct. 28
1983 – Larry Brolsma on Sept. 10, C.D. Coville on Oct. 30

If you can’t make it to the track, you can watch all the action live on DIRTVision.