Thunder on the 1000 Islands
Can Am Speedway -- Lafargeville, NY
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Event Info
Can Am Speedway

Winner: Matt Sheppard
2nd: Stewart Friesen
3rd: Tim Fuller
Thunder on the 1000 Islands
May 18, 2022
Can Am Speedway
21047 State Route 411
Lafargeville, NY

Watch on DIRTVision

Event Description
The Super DIRTcar Series races 75 laps in a $7,500 to win event at Can Am Speedway!

Super DIRTcar Series

Support Divisions
DIRTcar Pro Stock Series

To Win Amount

Feature Laps Length

Event Schedule
3:00 PM - Pit Gates Open - Technical Inspection Begins
3:00 PM - Draws Opens
5:45 PM - Draws Concludes
5:45 PM - DIRTcar Pro Stock Drivers Meeting
6:00 PM - Super DIRTcar Series Drivers Meeting
6:30 HOT LAPS/My Place Hotels Qualifying

Super DIRTcar Series Hot Laps
DIRTcar Pro Stocks Timed Hot Laps
Super DIRTcar Series My Place Hotels Qualifying


Super DIRTcar Series Heats (8 Laps)
DIRTcar Pro Stock Heats (8 Laps)
Super DITcar Series Redraw Front Stretch (Track Prep if necessary)
DIRTcar Pro Stock Redraw - Front Stretch
Super DIRTcar Series Last Chance Showdown(s) (10 Laps)
DIRTcar Pro Stocks Last Chance Showdown (10 Laps if necessary)
Intermission/Track Prep if necessary
Super DIRTcar Series Feature (75 LAPS)
DIRTcar Pro Stock Series (30 Laps)

Support Divisions
DIRTcar Pro Stock Series

To Win Amount

Type of Grandstand
bleachers aluminum and wood

Handicapped Seating

Handicapped Parking

Pit Gate Location
Parking lot

Personal Coolers
no outside drinks medical only

Credit Card Use
Ticket Window, Office, Pit Gate, Concessions

Parking Cost

Camping Availability
non-electric, onsite

Closest Airport

Other Airport

Can Am Speedway
21047 State Route 411
Lafargeville, NY

Track Phone
(315) 876-3478

Ticket Phone
(315) 876-3478

Track Email

Track History
As a direct descendant of the famed Watertown Speedway, the Can-Am Speedway was built in 1974 by an Evans Mills, NY real estate broker, Leslie W. Brown. The track lasted one year under this ownership and Brown filed for bankruptcy.

Early in 1975, a group of Watertown NY investors purchased the track — Bob Thurston Sr., Douglas Atkinson, and Thomas Coughlin. In 1981, Bob Thurston Sr. bought out the other two and became the sole owner.

The Thurston family owned the track during the glory years of the '80s and '90s. Thurston was responsible for bringing Can-Am under the DIRTcar Racing banner during the winter of 1982-83. The Thurston family did a remarkable job with the speedway, rebuilding the VIP towers after a vicious storm hit the track in 1995. With the help of many people around the racing community, the track was back up and running in just three weeks.

John Wight, of Baldwinsville, NY purchased the track in the summer of 2000. Wight had big plans for the speedway and introduced the Big Block Modifieds as the top class at the speedway. Wight eventually sold the track to Charlie and Billy Caprara from the F.X. Caprara car companies late in the 2003 season. The track would now be known as Caprara Bros. Can-Am Motorsports Park.

Just a couple of months into the 2009 season, the Capraras sold the track to long-time racer and Rochester businessman Tiger Chapman and his wife who currently still own it.

Track Size & Type
3/8 mile clay

 Can Am Speedway Facebook

 Can Am Speedway Instagram

2021 -- Stewart Friesen on April 10
2020 -- Anthony Perrego on Oct. 9
2019 -- Matt Sheppard on April 13
2009 -- Matt Sheppard on August 21
2008 -- Gary Tomkins on August 16
2007 -- Steve Paine & Tim Fuller on August 18
2003 -- Tim McCreadie on Sept. 6
2002 -- Tim McCreadie on July 24
2000 -- Danny Johnson on July 20
1999 -- Billy Decker on July 22
1997 -- Steve Paine on July 17
1996 -- Bob McCreadie on July 18
1995 -- Danny O'Brien on August 30
1994 -- Alan Johnson on July 20
1993 -- Steve Paine on July 21 
1992 -- Doug Hoffman on July 21
1991 -- Steve Paine on July 23
1990 -- Pat O'Brien on July 17
1989 -- Brett Hearn on July 18