KIRKWOOD, N.Y. – July 15, 2015 – Stewart Friesen of Sprakers, N.Y. slipped under Pat Ward exiting the fourth turn on the final lap to win the Super DIRTcar Series “Greatest Drivers 65” by half a car-length at Five Mile Point Speedway Wednesday.

Friesen had stalked Ward, who was looking for his first Big-Block Modified Series points-race win since 2005, from the halfway mark. He twice managed to lead a lap by inches before Ward seemed to have pulled ahead enough to secure the win with his high-side line.

“It was awesome,” Friesen said. “I just had a great car and I got good forward bite driving off the corner. You can always go side by side with Pat. I didn’t want to get into him. I’m thrilled for Mike (car owner Payne). He never gave up on this series.”

Friesen, a former Five Mile Point Speedway champion and a member of the track’s 65 Greatest Drivers all-time list, earned $6,000 for his first Super DIRTcar Series win of the season. He started ninth on the grid in the Honeoye Auto Parts No. 7z. He took over second from Larry Wight on lap 35 and the duel with Ward – including four restarts, was on.

“I was trying to win the race and I went into the third turn too hard, got loose and the let the other guy go by me,” Ward shrugged. “We’re getting better and better every race, but I should have had this one.”

“Greatest Drivers 65”

A-MAain (65 laps): start in (*)

1. 7z Stewart Friesen – Sprakers, NY (9)

2. 42p Pat Ward – Genoa, N.Y. (2)

3. 27j Danny Johnson – Rochester, N.Y. (5)

4. 19 Tim Fuller – Edwards, N.Y. (6)

5. 15 Billy Pauch Jr. Frenchtown, N.J. (7)

6. 20 Brett Hearn – Sussex, NJ (18)

7. 98h Jimmy Phelps – Baldwinsville, N.Y. (10)

15 Billy Pauch Jr. Frenchtown, N.J. (7)

8. 99L Larry Wight- Phoenix, N.Y. (8)

9. 33 Mike Mahaney – King Ferry, N.Y. (1)

10. 21a Peter Britten – Brisbane, Queensland, Australia (11)

11. 9h Matt Sheppard – Waterloo, N.Y. (12)

12. 91 Billy Decker – Unadilla, N.Y. (24)

13. 21R Erick Rudolph – Ransomville N. Y. (17)

14. 43 Keith Flach – Ravena, N.Y. (16)

15. 16x Danny Creeden – Wurstboro, NY (15)

16. 3 Mark Kislowski – Ballston Spa, N.Y. (13)

17. 5* Tyler Siri – Horseheads, N.Y. (21)

18. 29 Chris Ostrowsky (23)

19. 63 Adam Roberts – Watertown, N.Y. (26)

20. 8 Rich Scagliotta – Bound Brook, N. J. (13)

21. 48T Dave Rauscher – Waterloo, N.Y. (25)

22. 55 Anthony Perrego – Montgomery, N.Y. (19)

23. 2R Ronnie Johnson – Duanesburg, NY (22)

24. 1 Tyler Dippel – Wallkill, NY (3)

25. 14h Jeff Hoetzler – Wallkill, N.Y. (14)

26. 66 Duane Howard – Olney, PA (4)

Qualifying Heats (10 laps, top 5 transfer, top 4 redraw)

Heat 1: Howard, Mahaney, D Johnson, Phelps, Kislowski, Flach, Perrego, R Johnson, Rauscher

Heat 2: Wight, Friesen, Ward, Britten, Hoetzler Rudolph, Scagliotta, Ostrowsky, Roberts

Heat 3: Fuller, Pauch Jr., Sheppard, Dippel, Creeden, Hearn, Siri, Decker


Contingency Awards: Five Mile Point 7/15/15

VP Race Fuels – Larry Wight ($50 cash)

ASI Racewear – Jimmy Phelps ($50 cash)

Pole Position Raceway Fast Qualifier Award – Mike Mahaney ($100 cash)

Bilstein Shocks – Erick Rudolph ($50 cash)

Bicknell Racing Products – Stewart Friesen ($100 product certificate)

Cometic Gasket – Billy Decker ($50 cash)

Comp Cams – Peter Britten ($50 cash), Stewart Friesen ($50 product certificate)

Edelbrock – Peter Britten ($50 cash)

Fox Shox – Brett Hearn ($50 cash)

JE Pistons – Jimmy Phelps ($50 cash), Chris Ostrowsky (product), Dave Rauscher (product)

KSE Racing Products – Billy Decker ($50 Hard Charger product certificate)

MSD – Stewart Friesen ($50 cash), Tyler Dippel ($25 cash)

Mobil 1 – Larry Wight ($50 cash), Rich Scagliotta (20% product discount)

SuperFlow – Chris Ostrowsky ($50 cash)

Wrisco Aluminum – Stewart Friesen (product valued at appr. $200)

JRI Shocks – Adam Roberts ($50 cash)

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, Pole Position Raceway and Dig Safely New York. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, FX Caprara, Fox Shox, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Racing Electronics, Superflow, TNT Rescue and Wrisco Aluminum.