Super Matt’s night at UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit

BARBERVILLE, Fla. – Feb. 23, 2012 – Matt Sheppard received his champion’s ring tonight during opening ceremonies at the UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment at Volusia Speedway Park. Click the video above to ride along with Sheppard during hot laps.

Click DIRTVision.com to listen or watch tonight’s action.

Follow along with the action on Twitter at Twitter.com/DIRTcarNats or Twitter.com/SuperDIRTcar.

Check back later tonight for a full report from tonight’s action. The Super DIRTcar Series will run a doubleheader on Friday after Wednesday’s program was postponed by rain. For all the latest from the UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit, click DIRTcarNationals.com.

Contact: World Racing Group

              Chris Dolack, VP Media/PR

              704-467-7643 • cdolack@dirtcar.com


BROTHER ACT: Ty Dillon Edges Brother for UMP Modified Crown at UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit


Austin Dillon wins one of three A-mains; Billy Moyer earns late model victory 


BARBERVILLE, Fla. — Feb. 21, 2012 — Another huge night of racing Tuesday at Volusia Speedway Park wrapped up with Ty and Austin Dillon celebrating their triumphs at the UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment at Volusia Speedway Park.


After eight nights of UMP Modified competition at the two-week event, Ty Dillon edged his brother Austin by 25 points and Kenny Wallace by 27 points for the overall championship following a triple header on Tuesday to wrap up the event. Austin won the finale while Mike Wedelstadt and Tyler Carpenter won the other two A-mains.


“It feels great,” said Ty Dillon, the 19-year-old grandson of legendary NASCAR car owner Richard Childress. “Me and Austin and Team Dillon Racing have been coming down here for quite a few years in our young racing career. We’ve been down here every year since we’ve been racing. We fought so hard. We’ve won a couple of races. This year it finally paid off. Me and Austin got a win and we finally got the Gator championship.


“The track has been great every night since we’ve been here. Volusia has done an awesome job preparing the track. It’s been really racy and we’ve been having a fun time. It’s really put it in the drivers’ and crews’ hands. The fans have been great, it’s been an awesome week and no better way to kick off the year than to win the Gator championship.”


Austin Dillon, 21, was a contender every night of UMP Modified competition, leading up to the final night when the field was split into thirds.


“It was cool because it was the top 20 in points in that race,” he said of his A-main that included Kenny Wallace and Ken Schrader. “That was the toughest competition out here. Starting eighth it makes it even better. We were really able to drive up through there and move was able to move around. We gained constantly all week on the car and how it drove. Tonight it really showed. I think going into next year we got something to go after these guys with.”


In DIRTcar Late Model action, legendary Billy Moyer started on the front row for the 30-lap feature and held the field at bay. Darrell Lanigan was second with Steve Francis, Rick Eckert and Dennis Erb Jr. rounding out the top five.


Finally, 32 Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modifieds moved into Volusia on Tuesday for three practice sessions before four straight nights of racing. Two-time champion Matt Sheppard led the pack that also included seven-time champion Brett Hearn and defending UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit champion Stewart Friesen.


For more information and updates on the UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment, click DIRTcarNationals.com or follow on Twitter at Twitter.com/DIRTcarNats.


UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment Statistical Report; Volusia Speedway Park; Barberville, Fla.; Feb. 21, 2012


DIRTcar UMP Late Model 30-Lap A-Main Finish (Finish Pos./Car No./Driver): 1. (21) Billy Moyer; 2. (29) Darrell Lanigan; 3. (15) Steve Francis; 4. (24) Rick Eckert; 5. (28e) Dennis Erb Jr.; 6. (28M) Jimmy Mars; 7. (18) Shannon Babb; 8. (39) Tim McCreadie; 9. (15) Jonathan Davenport; 10. (99Jr.) Frankie Heckenast Jr.; 11. (18w) Eric Wells; 12. (11) Tyler Reddick; 13. (23) John Blankenship; 14. (14M) Morgan Bagley; 15. (1*) Chub Frank; 16. (5) Jared Landers; 17. (20) Jimmy Owens; 18. (25z) Morgan Bagley; 19. (3s) Brian Shirley; 20. (21Jr) Billy Moyer Jr.; 21. (25F) Jason Feger; 22. (b5) Brandon Sheppard; 23. (0) Scott Bloomquist; 24. (1d) Don O’Neal; 25. (91) Billy Decker.


DIRTcar UMP Modifieds

Triple 20 #1 Finish (20 Laps) – 1. (8C) Tyler Carpenter; 2. (66H) Wayne Hammond; 3. (’01) Chris Puskas; 4. (41G) Matt Goulden; 5. (d4) Dave Jamison; 6. (1F) Travis Fleshman; 7. (66) Dale Murray; 8. (10) Scott Mooers; 9. (11P) Charlie Phillips; 10. (d48) Derek Groomer; 11. (15R) Rich Robinson Jr; 12. (6b) Dave Baldwin; DNS 77g) Gavin Landers; DNS 81) Lawrence Sprague.


Triple 20 #2 Finish (20 Laps) – 1. (77) Mike Wedelstadt; 2. (67) Garrett Stewart; 3. (’00) Kody Weisner; 4. (17X) Richard Michael Jr; 5. (22T) Tony Anderson; 6. (’05) Dave Wietholder; 7. (15b) Dave Baker; 8. (26) Bob Gierke; 9. (16) Travis Dickson; 10. (92) Joel Watson; 11. (35) David Stremme; 12. (2) Josh Ulrich; 13. (47) Collin Thirlby; 14. (11) Richie Tosh.


Triple 20 #3 Finish (20 Laps) – 1. (3) Austin Dillon; 2. (41) Ty Dillon; 3. (1G) Devin Gilpin; 4. (40b) Kyle Bronson; 5. (9) Kenny Schrader; 6. (36) Kenny Wallace; 7. (90) Jason Beaulieu; 8. (44) Dave Hess Jr; 9. (7b) Jeff Babcock; 10. (18M) David McWilliams; 11. (‘0) Mark Dickson; 12. (115) Brandon Smith; 13. (18C) Matt Cooper; 14. (65) Todd Sherman.


UNOH DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Summit Racing Equipment DIRTcar UMP Modified Top Five Point Standings

1. (41) Ty Dillon 461; 2. (3) Austin Dillon 436 (-25); 3. (36) Kenny Wallace 434 (-27); 4. (9) Kenny Schrader 395 (-66); 5. (40) Kyle Bronson 371 (-90).