Close this search box.

Live From Volusia: 2/20/14

022014 DCN SDS preview

BARBERVILLE, FLA. – Thursday, February 20, 2014 – The Big-Block Modified action from last night at Volusia Speedway Park kept fans – whether in the grandstands or tuning in to DIRTvision from home – on their feet. Tonight’s racing is set to be even more exciting. Keep track of the latest news from tonight by keeping this live updates page loaded; we’ll be posting results and news here as it unfolds.

A-Main Lineup:

1. Friesen 2. Britten
3. Haers 4. VanInwegen 
5. Pauch  6. Mills
7. Williams 8. Perrego
9. Hearn 10. Horton
11. Phelps 12. Clair
13. Albert 14. Sheppard
15. Bunting 16. Bernard
17. Rauscher 18. Planck
19. Kerr 20. Williamson
21. Bussiere 22. Sheldon
23. Wilder 23. Allen
25. Morey  26. Ostrowsky
27. Randy Chrysler 28. Scagliotta


B-Main 1 (10 laps): Bussiere, Wilder, Morey, Randy Chrysler, Bellinger, Greene, Paine

B-Main 2 (10 laps): Sheldon, Allen, Ostrowsky, Scagliotta, Nadeau, Chrysler


Qualifying heats

The top five from each 8-lap heat race qualify for the feature race. Top two from each redraw.

Heat 1: Haers, Perrego, Hearn, Albert, Rauscher, Morey, Wilder, Randy Chrysler, Greene

Heat 2: Williams, Pauch, Horton, Sheppard, Planck, Bussiere, Bellinger, Paine

Heat 3: Britten, VanInwegen, Phelps, Bunting, Kerr, Sheldon, Allen, Roger Chrysler

Heat 4: Friesen, Mills, Clair, Bernard, Willismons, Scagliotta, Ostrowsky, Nadeau


Heat Group 1 Lineup

3h Justin Haers
55G Anthony Perrego
20 Brett Hearn
22J Jeremy Wilder
3A Kevin Albert
1g Darwin Greene
48Too Dave Rauscher
21k Randy Chrysler
14 C.G. Morey

Heat Group 2 Lineup

5 Jimmy Horton
323 Neil Williams
9h Matt Sheppard
1p Billy Pauch
21 Yan Bussiere
7z Dale Planck
8R Rob Bellinger
99 Steve Paine

Heat Group 3 Lineup

21a Pete Britten
10v Billy VanInwegen
98h Jimmy Phelps
85 H.J. Bunting
O7 Tim Kerr
88 Dave Allen
42s Kyle Sheldon
T21 Roger Chrysler

Heat Group 4 Lineup

1w Stewart Friesen
30 Jamie Mills
22c Mario Clair
6m Mat Williamson
8s Rich Scagliotta
54 Steve Bernard
29 Chris Ostrowsky
64 Daniel Nadeau

Format for tonight

Thirty-three cars will be competing tonight just to get in the feature race, with just 26 spots available in the feature.

Drivers participated in a a pill draw before the drivers’ meeting to assign qualifying groups. Timed hot laps run in drivers’ respective groups will set the field for the heat races, with the fastest cars starting in front. 

Each heat race will be 8 green laps, cautions will not count. The top five cars will transfer to the feature and the remainder will have another opportunity to qualify in B-Main races to follow. The top two cars will redraw for the top starting positions. Each of tonight’s two B-Main last-chance qualifiers will let two competitors transfer to the feature. Two provisional spots have been allocated in the starting lineup for the top two nonqualifying competitors with the most Gator Points earned in DIRTcar Nationals presented by Summit Racing Equipment  Big-Block Modified Competition.


Haers on a roll

Coming off last night’s win at Volusia Speedway Park, Justin Haers, of Phelps, N.Y., seems to be keeping the momentum up. He was fastest overall in time trials with a lap time of 17.189 seconds. Rookie Anthony Perrego, who finished second yesterday, was second overall in time trials and will also be starting on the front row in his heat group. Billy VanInwegen was fastest in group 4 and Peter Britten in group 3.

Time Trial Rank Number Driver   Time Trial Time
1 3h Justin Haers 17.189
2 55G Anthony Perrego 17.344
3 20 Brett Hearn 17.389
4 21a Pete Britten 17.401
5 10v Billy VanInwegen 17.439
6 5 Jimmy Horton 17.588
7 323 Neil Williams 17.597
8 9h Matt Sheppard 17.599
9 1w Stewart Friesen 17.631
10 1p Billy Pauch 17.653
11 30 Jamie Mills 17.671
12 21 Yan Bussiere 17.687
13 7z Dale Planck 17.722
14 98h Jimmy Phelps 17.765
15 85 H.J. Bunting 17.834
16 22c Mario Clair 17.899
17 22J Jeremy Wilder 17.920
18 6m Mat Williamson 17.985
19 8s Rich Scagliotta 18.020
20 3A Kevin Albert 18.042
21 O7 Tim Kerr 18.053
22 1g Darwin Greene 18.059
23 54 Steve Bernard 18.091
24 48Too Dave Rauscher 18.121
25 21k Randy Chrysler 18.234
26 14 C.G. Morey 18.298
27 88 Dave Allen 18.351
28 8R Rob Bellinger 18.353
29 29 Chris Ostrowsky 18.467
30 42s Kyle Sheldon 18.566
31 T21 Roger Chrysler 18.803
32 64 Daniel Nadeau 18.807
33 99 Steve Paine 19.246

J.R. Heffner out of running

J.R. Heffner, of Vatalie, N.Y., broke a motor running yesterday, yet still managed to finish 15th in the feature. However, the team isn’t taking any risks today and has bowed out of racing tonight. They were offered a Big-Block engine to use the rest of the week, but declined.

Live video on DIRTvision

The drive to Florida is a long haul for many Super DIRTcar Series fans in the Northeast, so we’re bringing the action to you! Visit, where you can purchase daily passes to view live video, or a package for the rest of the week.