Countdown Concludes With Green Flag At Hagerstown Advance Series Shootout


Weedsport, NYMarch 21, 2008 – By Tom Skibinski, Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series PR Director

The 2008 Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series opener, 7th Annual North-South Shootout at Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway on Saturday, March 22 is just one day away.

Commemorating the 10th straight season of Series partnership with Advance Auto Parts based in Roanoke, Virginia, those top-10 drivers on the Advance Auto Parts Series all-time Big-Block Modified feature win list will be highlighted for each of the 10 days leading up to the event.

This all-star cast of drivers has accounted for 416 feature race victories from the list of 66 drivers taking checkered flags in 593 tour events held at 44 speedways around the Northeast since 1980. The elite group of 10 drivers has amassed 26 overall Mr. DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Championships and at least half are expected to compete full-time with the ’08 Advance Series, beginning with the lid-lid-lifter at Hagerstown.

The most prolific driver in DIRTcar Racing NorthEast’s traveling show, Brett Hearn has scored 98 career extra-distance Series wins to sit first on the all-time list. The ‘Jet’ has flown to the top of the Advance Series record book in nearly every significant category, including reaching victory lane at least once in 23 seasons of tour competition.

The reigning and record-tying six-time overall Mr. DIRTcar Big-Block Champion, Hearn registered his last tour triumph at Rolling Wheels Raceway Park on September 22, 2007. Residing in Sussex, New Jersey, Hearn set a single-season Series mark of 10 extra-distance triumphs in 2002, with at least six victories logged another half-dozen seasons. He has captured five titles in the Rite Aid 200 on the Syracuse Mile, logged four Rolling Wheels National 200 and Fonda 200 victories, and three Lebanon Valley 200 wins, while adding eight Eastern States 200 trophies at Orange County Fair Speedway where he remains the all-time track champion. Hearn leads all competitors with 28 wins in Series “200s” and owns a track-best 15 tour triumphs at Rolling Wheels.

Competing in every ‘North-South Shootout’ held at Hagerstown Speedway since the 2001 lid-lifter, Hearn finally cracked the winner’s circle in ’06 and has finished in the Top-5 three of the past four years.

Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series
Top-10 Big-Block Modified Feature Winners (1980-2007)

98 Brett Hearn Lebanon Valley, 7/15/81 Rolling Wheels, 9/22/07
65 Danny Johnson Fonda, 9/25/82 Cayuga County, 8/19/07
51 Bob McCreadie Ransomville, 9/10/82 Rolling Wheels, 9/4/00
47 Alan Johnson Ransomville, 6/27/80 Cayuga County, 9/2/07
39 Billy Decker Lebanon Valley, 9/18/88 Rolling Wheels, 9/22/07
28 Jack Johnson Cayuga County, 7/16/80 Orange County, 6/14/01
27 Steve Paine Canandaigua, 9/7/85 Can-Am, 8/18/07
26 Doug Hoffman Orange County, 10/25/87 Lowe’s, 4/6/02
18 Tim McCreadie Rolling Wheels, 9/26/99 Drummond, 8/23/04
17 Tim Fuller Rolling Wheels, 9/21/03 Cayuga County, 8/19/07

The 10th Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series season begins on March 22, 2008 with the 7th North-South Shootout at Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway. Further track information is available at and the DIRTcar NorthEast Office (315/834-6606) is open during weekdays. Log into the homepage at anytime to find out more about the entire circuit.

Headquartered in Roanoke, Va., Advance Auto Parts is the second-largest retailer of automotive aftermarket parts, accessories, batteries, and maintenance items in the United States, based on store count and sales. As of October 6, 2007, the company operated 3,228 stores in 40 states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. The company serves both the do-it-yourself and professional installer markets.