Close this search box.

Cornwall next up for Super DIRTcar Series

Cornwall next up for Super DIRTcar Big-Block Series

Mel Valade Backhoe 100 rainout make-up – $30,000 purse – $6,000-to-win

CORNWALL, ONT – August 17, 2015 – The Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series crosses the border for its fifth Canadian event of the season, the Mel Valade Backhoe Services 100, Sunday, August 23 at Cornwall Speedway.

Super DIRTcar Series competitors chasing point leader Matt Sheppard, driver of the FX Caprara No. 9, are hoping the three-time Series champion will remain winless in Canada a while longer.

Sheppard has four Big-Block Modified Series wins in 2015, most recently at Weedsport, and has a 72-point lead over HBR Racing teammate Jimmy Phelps, but he has yet to win a Canadian race in four starts.

To date, Canadian Super DIRTcar Series victories have gone to Danny Johnson/Brockville-Ontario Speedway, Chad Brachmann/ Ohsweken Speedway, Mat Williamson/Merrittville and Brett Hearn/Autodrome Drummond.

Hearn is third in the championship point standings, 29 points behind Phelps and seven points better than defending Super DIRTcar Series champion Billy Decker.

In addition to Phelps, Hearn and Decker, Sheppard will get opposition in his bid for his fifth Series win from Pat Ward, Larry Wight, Billy Dunn, Stewart Friesen and Tim Fuller as well as Cornwall 358-Modified champion Carey Terrance and other top local drivers including Chris Raabe, Stephane LaFrance, Lee Ladouceur and Mario Clair – all feature winners at Cornwall this season.

On Tuesday, August 25, the Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series heads to Lebanon Valley Speedway for the $17,500-to-win Mr. Dirt Track USA 100.

For more information on the Super DIRTcar Series, visit,, follow on Twitter @SuperDIRTcar, and like us on Facebook at

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, NAPA Auto Parts, Pole Position Raceway and Dig Safely New York. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, FX Caprara, Fox Shox, Impact Race Products, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mobil 1, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Performance, Racing Electronics, Superflow, TNT Rescue and Wrisco Aluminum.