Thursday, 17 October 2019


DUNDEE, NY – July 10, 2018 – It looked like nothing would stop five-time Super DIRT Week Champion and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Stewart Friesen from driving away with the Ultimate Outlaw 100, but a late race mechanical failure sent the no. 44 behind the wall with just nine laps left. Brett The Jet Hearn inherited the lead and never looked back, winning the Ultimate Outlaw 100 at Outlaw Speedway in Dundee, NY. Hearn battled in the top-five for the entire race after starting on the outside pole position. Championship points leader Matt Sheppard took home a hard fought second place finish after close battles with Erick Rudolph and Danny Johnson. The Doctor Danny Johnson held the final podium position maintaining his torrid pace over the last three races.

Read more: 07/10/2018 Ultimate Outlaw 100 Outlaw Speedway

VERNON, NY – July 8, 2018 – The Baldwinsville Bandit Jimmy Phelps struck gold, winning the $6,000 to win Freedom Fighter 100 at Utica-Rome Speedway in front of a tremendous crowd. Race fans witnessed an incredible race as Phelps held off charge after charge from the likes of Stewart Friesen and Danny Johnson. Johnson, coming off his win at Land of Legends Raceway, finished second, and has put a firm stamp on his bid for the overall Series Championship. The bottom step of the podium was filled by Erick Rudolph. He started 13th and made his way up through the field, passing points leader Matt Sheppard late in the 100-lap race.

Read more: 07/08/2018 Freedom Fighter 100 Utica-Rome Speedway

CANANDAIGUA, NY – July 5, 2018 – At Land of Legends Raceway in Canandaigua, NY, The Doctor Danny Johnson launched his no. 27J Big-Block Modified from pole position to Victory Lane to capture his first Super DIRTcar Series checkered flag of 2018. Johnson lead the Liberty 100 from flag to flag, although runner up Matt Williamson closed in on multiple occasions. Points leader Matt Sheppard picked his way through the field up to a podium position but never threatened for the overall lead. The no. 27J was simply the class of the field with the veteran pilot behind the wheel.

Read more: 07/05/2018 Liberty 100 Land of Legends Raceway

CORNWALL, ONT – July 1, 2018 – Matt Sheppard willed his way to the front of the pack to win the Super DIRTcar Series O’Canada 100 over hometown heroes Chris Raabe and Kyle Ringwall. Sheppard swept the night but did not start on the pole. He took the Billy Whitaker Cars & Trux Fast-Time award, won his Heat Race, but then in the redraw, picked position seven. At the drop of the green flag, Sheppard was immediately on the gas and going to the front. On his way to the the top, the no.9s had to dispatch Series stars Brett Hearn and Erick Rudolph. But it would be the hometown heroes like Chris Raabe who pressured and fought Sheppard for the lead to no avail.

Read more: 07/01/2018 O'Canada 100 Cornwall Motor Speedway

MALTA, NY – June 26, 2018 – Stewart Friesen held his son high above the Halmar Racing no. 44 in Victory Lane after taking the checkered flag at Albany-Saratoga Speedway. The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series rising star moved up into second place and thought that was as far as he would get. But suddenly Matt Sheppard, who had lead 95 laps from the pole, got tangled up with the lapped competitor Willy Decker and spun out between turns one and two bringing out the caution flag. The field streamed by the stalled no. 9s and gave Friesen the top spot with only 5 laps to go. Friesen held off the HBR cars for the win. 

Read more: 06/26/2018 The Big Show X Albany-Saratoga Speedway

CONCORD, NC – June 15, 2018 – Defending Super DIRTcar Series Champion Super Matt Sheppard has officially picked up where he left off last season. Sheppard put Big-Block Modified drivers everywhere on notice after a dominating green-to-checkered flag 100 lap victory at Brewerton Speedway Friday night. A full third of the field watched the no. 9s streak by as he lapped up to position 10. Sheppard was quick in Time Trials and narrowly scored a Heat Race win over Brett Hearn. The no. 9s pilot picked the pole position in the Dig Safely 811 Redraw. Only two cautions slowed the action and Sheppard was able to fend off two Deckers and a Phelps in his wire to wire win.

Read more: 06/15/2018 Showdown at Sundown 100 at Brewerton Speedway

Full-time NASCAR Craftsman Series Truck driver Stewart Friesen needed every ounce of talent, determination, and equipment he had to hold off the 18-year-old HBR driver Max McLaughlin. The pair diced and dueled through lapped traffic for the better part of the 100 lap Feature. McLaughlin closed in for the kill multiple times, but Friesen stayed slippery and managed to gap 6h again and again. All the effort was worth it as Stewart Friesen becomes the first guaranteed starter for this year’s NAPA Super DIRT Week.

Read more: 5/28/2018 Heroes Remembered 100 at Weedsport Speedway

BARBERVILLE, FL – February 17, 2018 – Tim McCreadie brought the house down at Volusia Speedway Park by carving through the field from 27thto first, winning the 50 lap Big-Block Modified Feature and the DIRTcar Nationals Championship. McCreadie’s charge and late race pass on Stewart Friesen earned himself his first DIRTcar Nationals Big Gator. The crowd roared as the no. 39 Sweeteners Plus crossed the finish line ahead of Stewart Friesen and Mike Mahaney.

Read more: 2/17/2018 - DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park Night 5

BARBERVILLE, FL – February 16, 2018 – Super Matt Sheppard started the third Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modified DIRTcar Nationals Feature in third but wasted no time positioning himself in pole-sitter Danny Johnson’s tire tracks. Johnson lead the field for the first 17 laps until he caught up to lapped traffic. Johnson attempted to make a pass on the high-side. Unfortunately for the no. 27j, he slid up and Sheppard made the best of the opportunity and set sail en route to his first victory of 2018 season.

Read more: 2/16/2018 - DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park Night 4

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 39-Tim McCreadie [1]; 2. 44-Stewart Friesen [8]; 3. 27J-Danny Johnson [15]; 4. 3-Justin Haers [3]; 5. 88-Mike Mahaney [5]; 6. 9s-Matt Sheppard [14]; 7. 1-Billy Pauch [4]; 8. 9-Ryan Watt [20]; 9. 19k-Brett Kressley [21]; 10. 4-Billy VanInwegen [11]; 11. 42p-Pat Ward [7]; 12. 99L-Larry Wight [10]; 13. 43-Jimmy Horton [16]; 14. 74-J.R. Heffner [2]; 15. 5-Ryan Godown [22]; 16. 91-Billy Decker [24]; 17. 109-Billy Whittaker [28]; 18. 165-Rex King [23]; 19. 98h-Jimmy Phelps [27]; 20. 118-Jim Britt [26]; 21. 5s-Tyler Siri [12]; 22. 46-Jeremy Smith [17]; 23. 20-Brett Hearn [9]; 24. 25R-Erick Rudolph [19]; 25. 30M-Joseph Watson [18]; 26. 19m-Jessey Mueller [25]; 27. 6h-Max McLaughlin [13]; 28. 85-H.J. Bunting [6] Read more: 2/15/2018 - DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park Night 3